10th in OSCAAR Midget Points – Darryl Anthony


Running a partial schedule for his rookie year, Darryl Anthony proved he will be a driver to watching in the coming seasons.

Making the step to Midgets after competing behind the wheel of a mini stock, Anthony made his series debut at Peterborough Speedway in May. Unfortunately, he suffered a mechanical issue which brought his night to an end early.

Not willing to let the early bad luck get him down, Anthony made the trip to Flamboro Speedway on June 18. He ran up front throughout the entire feature, showcasing his ability as a driver en route to a sixth place finish.

The following three starts for this year didn’t go as planned for Anthony in terms of results. He posted three finishes just outside of the top-10 at Sauble Speedway, Peterborough and Flamboro. However, it is worth noting he showed speed each week and growth behind the wheel, which will come in hand in the future.

While the year didn’t go as well as hoped, it’s worth noting Anthony achieved his original goal coming into the season “to qualify for every race, and be competitive”.

On behalf of OSCAAR, congratulations to Darryl Anthony on a solid rookie campaign and look forward to seeing you out more, contending inside the top-five, in 2017.

By: Ashley McCubbin

10th in OSCAAR Pro Midget Points – Brian MacDonald


Despite getting off to a late start this year with his OSCAAR Pro Midget, Brian MacDonald proved he belonged up front with the best.

After purchasing the car mid-season from fellow midget competitor Richard Woodland, the debut for MacDonald behind the wheel came at Peterborough Speedway on July 30. MacDonald ran strongly throughout the entire night, crossing the finish line with an impressive third place finish.

Unfortunately, his second event a week later at Flamboro Speedway did not pan out as well as hoped. After posting a runner-up finish in his first heat, MacDonald broke on Lap 8 of the feature while running in the fourth position.

Going into the second last race of the year, the team put Lucas Oil T.Q. Midget driver Jeff Blackburn in the car for the Autumn Colours Classic. Blackburn showed speed behind the wheel, as he was battled side-by-side for the lead in a heat with Glen Blaker. However, contact coming to the finish line resulted in contact with the wall, ending their season.

MacDonald has certainly impressed this year as not only did he have success with his Pro Midget, he also finished second in the OSCAAR Midget standings with eight top-10s, including five straight podium finishes.

As to where next season takes him, it’s known no matter the path, he should be successful.
By: Ashley McCubbin

Gary McLean Scores Frostoberfest Victory to Secure OSCAAR Modified Championship


Knowing he had to outrun his championship contending opponents, Gary McLean took it one step further and outran the whole field en route to scoring the OSCAAR Modified Frostoberfest victory, picking up the 2016 OSCAAR Modified Championship.

Luke Gignac won the first heat ahead of A.J. Emms, Ryan Dick, Dan Price, Brian McLean and Rob Di Venanzo.

Gary McLean won the second heat ahead of John Harper, Brent McLean, Gary Elliott, Mike Westwood and David Balych.

Come feature time, Ryan Dick started pole ahead of Luke Gignac, Brent McLean, Gary McLean, A.J. Emms, John Harper, Gary Elliott, Dan Price, Brian McLean, Mike Westwood, David Balych and Rob Di Venanzo.

The feature didn’t start off cleanly as there’d be contact in turn four with Price and Balych. Balych was done for the event, while Price was able to continue.

The second attempt to start the event went cleanly with Gignac putting the No. 99 PBS Motors & Pumps, Wolseley Canada, Dave Wiggins Custom Exhaust, OTD Building Supplies, Fox’s Bakery and Deli, TSS Top Shops, Wix Filters, Heritage Heating Contractors, Duckworths Fish and Chips Orillia, Saniflo, and Dwinnel’s Family Movers Modified out front.

Gary McLean quickly moved into second ahead of Emms, Elliott, Dick and Brent McLean. Harper then slipped into seventh ahead of Westwood, Price and Di Venanzo.

Unfortunately, Gignac’s strong run came to an end on Lap 5 as a broken throttle linkage caused him to slow, eventually pulling into the infield.

As a result, Gary McLean took over the race lead, putting the No. 8 McLean Industrial Design and Fabrication Ltd., and McLean Farms Modified out front. Emms moved up into second ahead of Elliott, Dick and Brent McLean. Harper moved up to sixth ahead of Westwood, Price and Di Venanzo. Price was able to gain some ground, though, passing Westwood for seventh on Lap 8.

Gary McLean then led the rest of the way en route to scoring the victory and the 2016 OSCAAR Modified Championship. It marks McLean’s fifth straight series championship.

“It feels pretty good,” he said post-race. “Realistically, we’re not really all that interested in racing in the points – we just love to come race and whatever happens, happens.”

Knowing the competition he was faced for the championship, including having Emms on his tail through the second half of the event, McLean said his team was focused on one goal throughout the day.

“You know that you have to go out and win as against these guys, you’re not going to get the job done,” he said. “I guess that’s what the Chase format was designed to do – you had to run up front, get the job done – and the guys unloaded the car today with the mentality that it was going to be good enough to get the job done.”

A.J. Emms finished second, followed by Gary Elliott, Ryan Dick and Brent McLean. John Harper finished sixth, followed by Dan Price, Mike Wetwood, Rob Di Venanzo and David Balych.

By Ashley McCubbin

James Marche Caps off Season with First Career OSCAAR Pro Midget Victory


Making the late race charge, James Marche was able to get to the front in the closing laps to score his first career OSCAAR Pro Midget feature victory at Flamboro Speedway.

Autumn Colours Classic Champion Adrian Kemps won the first heat ahead of Rob Summers, James Stanley and Wally Wilson.

Daniel Hawn won the second heat in his first career start ahead of Cassidy March, Shawn Paul, Katherine Summers, Larry Westwood and Gary Triska.

The feature got off to a rocky start as Wilson, Marche and March all spun on Lap 1 in turn two. Meanwhile, Triska’s feature ended early as he pulled off the track with a mechanical problem. Shawn Paul also suffered the same fate, pulling off before the restart.

Daniel Hawn got a good restart to hold the early lead ahead of Adrian Kemps and Cassidy March, with James Marche moving into fourth ahead of Rob Summers and Katherine Summers. The problems continued for driver, though, as James Stanley pulled off on Lap 2 with a problem, followed by March pulling off a lap later with a problem as well. March’s problem allowed Marche to move up into third ahead of Rob Summers, Katherine Summers and Wally Wilson.

Through the middle portion of the event, Marche kept steadily making progress towards the front of the field as he passed Kemps on Lap 8 to move into second. He then ran down Hawn for the lead, passing him with four laps to go for the top spot.

James Marche then led the rest of the way en route to his first career victory ahead of Daniel Hawn, Adrian Kemps, Rob Summers and Katherine Summers. Wally Wilson finished sixth, followed by Cassidy March, James Stanley, Shawn Paul and Gary Triska.

By Ashley McCubbin

Designed for Top Ecig in Collaboration with r4i and cars online and PDF Library - Doculib.org