Andrew Gresel Crowned Don Biederman Memorial Champion at Flamboro

Andrew Gresel at Flamboro Speedway - Biederman Memorial Race Winner 2017

In a unique double 25-lap feature format, it’d be Andrew Gresel being crowned the Don Biederman Memorial Champion at Flamboro Speedway on Saturday night.

The first feature saw Tyler Hawn started on pole ahead of Dario Capirchio, Jamie Richardson, Andrew Gresel, Glenn Watson, Charlie Gallant, Jim Bowman and Shawn Chenoweth. Todd Campbell had also shown up, but was unable to start as a result of suffering a mechanical issue in practice.

Hawn jumped out to the early lead, with Gresel slotting into second ahead of Capirchio. Unfortunately, it wasn’t a smooth start as the caution flew on Lap 2 for an incident in turn three involving Richardson, Chenoweth and Bowman.

The restart saw a battle for the lead between Gresel and Hawn, with Gresel taking the top spot on Lap 5 ahead of Hawn, Watson, Gallant, Capirchio, Bowman, Richardson and Chenoweth.

The race appeared to have a green flag look to it, but that wasn’t meant to be the case as the caution flew once more before the race was over. On Lap 19, Capirchio would drive up on the side of Richardson, before lopping it around in turn one.

Andrew Gresel got a good restart to lead the rest of the way en route to his first feature victory of 2017 in his first OSCAAR start of the season. Glenn Watson finished second for his seventh top-five in eight features, followed by Tyler Hawn with his sixth top-five. Charlie Gallant finished fourth for his seventh top-five, while Jim Bowman placed fifth in his 2017 debut.

Shawn Chenoweth finished sixth, followed by Jamie Richardson, Dario Capirchio, and Todd Campbell.

For the second feature, it’d be Charlie Gallant starting pole ahead of Tyler Hawn, Glenn Watson, Andrew Gresel, Dario Capirchio, Shawn Chenoweth, Jamie Richardson, and Jim Bowman.

Gallant jumped out to the early lead on the opening lap ahead of Hawn, Watson, Gresel, Capirchio, Chneoweth and Richardson. Unfortunately, Bowman’s race came to an end early, as he pulled off on Lap 3 with a problem.

The race mostly ran single-file through the beginning, with business picking up in the second half as the focus shifted to the battle to second between Hawn, Watson and Gresel. Watson continued to take peaks underneath Hawn, but was unable to complete the pass, as Gresel lurked behind the pair looking for a way past Watson. The attempts to pass turned into a full pass on Lap 18, with Watson and Gresel both passing Hawn to take over the second and third positions.

Charlie Gallant led the rest of the way en route to scoring the feature victory ahead of Glenn Watson, Andrew Gresel, Tyler Hawn, Dario Capirchio, Shawn Chenoweth, Jamie Richardson and Jim Bowman. Notably, that marked the first top-five for Capirchio in his 2017 season debut.

With the averages put together between the pair of features, a victory in the first one, followed by a third in the second feature, resulted in Andrew Gresel being crowned the 2017 Don Biederman Memorial Champion. A full list of the winners through the years can be viewed below.

Glenn Watson was credited with second overall followed by Charlie Gallant, Tyler Hawn, Shawn Chenoweth, Jim Bowman, Dario Capirchio, Jamie Richardson and Todd Campbell.

Don Biederman Memorial Winners:
2017 – Andrew Gresel
2016 – Shane Maginnis
2015 – Kevin Cornelius
2014 – Kevin Cornelius
2013 – Dwayne Baker
2012 – Brandon Watson
2011 – Jeff Hanley
2010 – Jeff Hanley
2009 – Jeff Hanley
2008 – Jeff Hanley
2007 – Derrick Tiemersma
2006 – TJ Woolsey
2005 – Rob Clarke
2004 – John Fletcher
2003 – John Fletcher
2002 – John Fletcher
2001 – Stu Robinson Jr
2000 – Dave Taylor
1999 – Rob Clarke

By: Ashley McCubbin

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.

Designed for Top Ecig in Collaboration with r4i and cars online and PDF Library -