OSCAAR Pro Midgets Grand Bend Speedway Preview


After a solid show this past weekend at Sauble Speedway, the OSCAAR Pro Midgets will be back in action on Saturday at Grand Bend Speedway for their fourth race of 2017. This event is a non-points race as a result of being a make-up feature for a rain-out earlier this season.

Everybody will be gunning for Jordan Hanna this weekend certainly, as he looks to make it four in a row after sweeping the first three events of 2017.

Cassidy March hopes his speed shines through this weekend after not performing as well as he hoped at Sauble Speedway. He was strong last year at Grand Bend, picking up a runner-up finish.

Inaugural OSCAAR Pro Midget Series Champion Ted Greenwood will make his third start of the year this weekend. He has momentum on his side following a third-place finish at Sauble, and won last year at Grand Bend.

Another driver looking for a solid run will be James Stanley, who scored his first career OSCAAR Pro Midget top-five at Sauble Speedway. Perhaps this weekend everything comes together for a podium.

Rob Summers will be looking for another podium after scoring a third-place finish at Peterborough, followed by a fifth at Flamboro.

His daughter Katherine will also be one to watch, as she looks to improve upon a pair of eighths to start the season.

Adrian Kemps has only made five OSCAAR Pro Midget starts to date, but they’ve all been stellar with just one finish outside of the top-four, including a victory in last year’s Autumn Colours Classic at Peterborough.

Gary Triska will be looking for another top-10 this weekend, after starting off this season with a ninth and an eighth.

Daniel Hawn will make his fifth series start this weekend, hoping to finish one spot better after three runner-ups to start the season.

Brody Rickwood caught everyone‘s attention in his OSCAAR Pro Midget debut at Peterborough, scoring a fifth-place finish. He will look to keep the momentum rolling following a sixth and a fourth in the pair of races that have followed.

Steve Belfry found some speed this past weekend, with a sixth, and hopes to keep the good mojo rolling.

JT Ackworth scored himself a top-10 at Sauble with a 10th, and will hope to keep improving this weekend.

Wally Wilson will be making his first second start of the year, hoping to put the bad luck behind him that plagued his 2017 debut at Sauble.

Mckenzie Hamilton will begin her chase of Rookie of the Year honors after racing a 440 suspended outlaw midget on dirt at Wonderland Speedway in 2014. She says, “It will be fun and very interesting for me joining a new class and being able to race against (the) many good drivers in it.”

You can also add Paul Gee to the list of drivers expected to be in attendance, who will make their series debuts.

Details on the upcoming night of action, including the schedule, can be found at http://www.jcarracing.ca/.

Preview Written by Ashley McCubbin – Photo by Crystal Northcott

Glenn Watson Scores Fourth Feature Victory of 2017 at Sauble Speedway


Glenn Watson kept the good times rolling at Sauble Speedway this past weekend, scoring his fourth feature victory of the 2017 season.

The heats would run smoothly, with Tyler Hawn and Glenn Watson each picking up a win. Once the feature took to the track, the boys played nice with solid competition throughout the entire affair.

Glenn Watson picked up the victory ahead of Charlie Gallant, who picked up his second runner-up of 2017. Tyler Hawn finished third for his fifth top-five of the year, followed by Doug Wilson in his first start the season. Gary Passer and Jamie Richardson rounded out the field of six.

The OSCAAR Super Late Models will be back in action on Friday, July 21 at Kawartha Speedway. If you’re planning on attending the Kawartha show, be sure to print off the $5 off coupon so you can get into the show for just $15.

By: Ashley McCubbin / Photo by T.W. Robarts Photos

Cory Horner Scores Second Career OSCAAR Modified Feature Victory


They say once you get the first out of the way and the monkey gets off your back, you usually can go on a tear and win some more races. The theory is playing true for Cory Horner as after scoring his first career win earlier this season, he scored another feature victory on Saturday night at Sauble Speedway.

Admittedly, the feature did not start off smoothly for the OSCAAR Modifieds with a series of cautions in the opening stages prior to getting three laps on the board. With things a little messy, race officials went forth with putting the field single file for the forth coming restart, which worked out in Horner’s favor being the pole sitter.

Cory Horner was then able to lead flag-to-flag to score the victory, giving him the hat trick on the night as he won both of his qualifying heats. Gary Elliott finished second for his best finish of the season to date, followed by AJ Emms with his third podium of 2017. Tim Tolton finished fourth for his first career top-five finish, followed by Luke Gignac in fifth after winning one of the qualifying heats.

John Harper finished sixth for his third top-10 of 2017, followed by Dale Reinhart and Aaron McLean. More importantly for McLean, he was able to pick up his first career heat victory in qualifying. Dave Hodgkinson finished ninth for his first career top-10, followed by Chris Milwain. David Balych and Marty Monette would round out the field of 12 cars.

The OSCAAR Modifieds will be back in action later on this month at Kawartha Speedway on July 21, followed by their make-up event at Full Throttle Motor Speedway on July 23. If you’re planning on attending the Kawartha show, be sure to print off the $5 off coupon so you can get into the show for just $15.

By: Ashley McCubbin / Photo by T.W. Robarts Photos

Brent Kemps Sweeps OSCAAR Midget Features at Sauble Speedway


Brent Kemps finally got his chance to celebrate a feature victory, and a twice in one night on that note as he won both of the OSCAAR Midget events at Sauble Speedway on Saturday night.

With just five cars making the trek to the beach, speedway and series officials agreed on changing the schedule to include a pair of features rather than the usual double qualifying heats, followed by a single feature. The decision paid off as the fans in the stands were treated to a pair of great shows.

As noted, Brent Kemps was the big winner on the night as he scored his first and second career feature victories on the night of competition, allowing him to take home the coveted boogie board from ImageWraps.ca.

In the first feature, Kemps scored the victory ahead of Tyler Cullen and Wally Wilson. Notably, the runner-up is Cullen’s best career OSCAAR finish to date, while this past weekend marked Wilson’s 2017 series debut after a top-five points finish last year. Flamboro race winner Ryan Brown finished fourth, with Parker Bowman rounding out the field.

In the second feature, Kemps scored the victory ahead of Brown and Cullen. Brown, the defending series champion, has failed to finish outside of the top-four in the first four features this season. Bowman and Wilson rounded out the field.

The OSCAAR Midgets will be back in action later on this month on July 29 at Flamboro Speedway, as part of the 2017 Don Biederman Memorial weekend.

By: Ashley McCubbin / Photo by T.W. Robarts Photos

Designed for Top Ecig in Collaboration with r4i and cars online and PDF Library - Doculib.org