4th & 5th in OSCAAR Hot Rod Points

In their first year of competition, the OSCAAR Hot Rods delivered each week they hit the track, putting on a show for the fans.

Fifth in Points – Steve MayhewSteve Mayhew

With experience on his side from years of thunder car competition, Steve Mayhew was set to make himself known in OSCAAR Hot Rod competition. Unfortunately, his year didn’t start out as planned as he fell out of the inaugural event at Kawartha Speedway early with mechanical issues.

Mayhew managed to rebound nicely, though, scoring a runner-up finish at Brighton Speedway on OSCAAR’s fist ever dirt event, before placing fourth in his return to Kawartha in July.

Fourth in Points – Jerry LuckhardtJerry Luckhardt

Right from the inaugural event to the end of the year, Jerry Luckhardt was part of the OSCAAR’s field each week, putting on a great show.

Unfortunately, his first ever start at Kawartha also didn’t pan out well, ending early with mechanical issues. He joined the fray when the series headed to Brighton Speedway, scoring a solid fifth-place finish.

Although he missed some events, there were some highlights, as seen with a runner-up at Flamboro Speedway in July. He wasn’t able to carry the momentum to Sunset Speedway though, as he placed eighth in feature one, before failing to complete Sunday’s event after the left front wheel came off on Lap 11.

Luckhardt returned for the season finale at Flamboro Speedway, capping the year off with a solid fifth-place finish.

On behalf of OSCAAR, congratulations to both drivers on a successful campaign in 2017. We look forward to seeing you once again next year.

By: Ashley McCubbin

4th & 5th in OSCAAR Midget Points

Despite being a shortened schedule, the OSCAAR Midgets put on solid shows each time they hit the track.

5th – Monty Farrell

After a pair of top-10’s in 2016, curiosity stemmed whether Monty Farrell would find success this season.

Ultimately, he only made one start in 2017, coming at Peterborough Speedway in May with a third-place finish.

4th – Tyler Cullen

Continuing to grow divisions and competition, our eyes are always focused on who could be the next race winner or champion down the road. Tyler Cullen is one of those names that you don’t want to forget.

After experiencing success at Grand Bend Speedway, he made his OSCAAR Midget debut at Flamboro Speedway in June, posting a fourth-place finish. He continued to build on that and get stronger moving forward, scoring a runner-up and third in the pair of events at Sauble Speedway.

Cullen will be a name to watch in the years to come, as he also competed in some OSCAAR Pro Midget events, gaining valuable experience towards the future.

On behalf of OSCAAR, congratulations to both Monty Farrell and Tyler Cullen on their success this season. We wish you the best in the future.

By: Ashley McCubbin

5th in Outlaw Super Late Model Points – John Cadman

John Cadman

With seven top-fives in eight feature starts, John Cadman was fast and impressive en route to a fifth-place points ranking in the OSCAAR Outlaw Super Late Model standings.

Right from the beginning, Cadman was fast as he posted a third-place finish in the first of the double features at Flamboro Speedway to start the season. The second event did not begin as he hoped, going for a spin on Lap 1. He worked his way back up to fourth, though contact on the last lap battling for third saw him end up sixth on the final rundown.

Cadman did not let the adversity deter his team, though, as he went on a tear with four straight second-place finishes. It started off with at Kawartha in June after a pass on Derrick Tiemersma just before halfway, carried to Flamboro Speedway with a pair in the double features, with the fourth coming in the return trip to Kawartha in July.

He looked poised for another podium at Peterborough Speedway’s Autumn Colours Classic, working his way up to second by Lap 10 after starting fourth. However, contact while trying to get through lap traffic with 11 laps to go sent him to the back of the field. He was able to work his way back up to fourth by the end of the event.

On behalf of OSCAAR, congratulations to John Cadman on the success this past season. We look forward to seeing you once again in 2018.

By: Ashley McCubbin

5th in OSCAAR Modified Points – Gary Elliott

Gary Elliott

With consistency on a weekly basis, along with some history in the process, Gary Elliott was impressive en route to a fifth place finish in the OSCAAR Modified standings.

Kicking off the season at Flamboro in May, Elliott posted a solid sixth despite having to make an early pit stop due to a cut tire in the opening laps. He was able to carry the consistency forward, scoring a solid 10th a week later at Kawartha Speedway.

Returning to Flamboro in June, he scored his first heat victory of the season, before placing fourth in the 30-lap feature. An even stronger run followed a couple weeks later at Sauble Speedway with a runner-up performance.

Going to tracks for a second time seemed to work in Elliott’s favor as his second appearance at Kawartha in 2017 saw him improve upon his June finish with a sixth this time around. He then rounded out the month of July with another heat win, followed by leading laps in the feature en route to a fourth.

He would start off August at Peterborough Speedway, continuing the momentum with a solid sixth-place finish. The next race, though, he missed due to running the full Pro Late Model schedule at Flamboro. He would get Rob Di Venanzo to drive the No. 36 Modified, which saw him put together an impressive third-place finish.

Elliott returned to the driver’s seat at Sunset Speedway’s Velocity 250, starting 23rd (tail of the field) after missing Saturday’s qualifying heats. He put together one of his best drives of the entire season, working his way through the field patiently to finish ninth.

Come Frostoberfest a week later at Flamboro, he ran his pro late model, once again handing driving duties over to Di Venanzo. This time, it did not go as planned, as a couple spins by Di Venanzo resulted in an 11th-place finish.

Elliott would run the season finale at Peterborough, coming back from a spin with 20 laps to go to place fourth. The Autumn Colours Classic marked a bigger milestone for the veteran, though, as it was his 800th consecutive start as Elliott hasn’t missed a night on his schedule dating back to June 1987, as he embarked on his 44th season of competition.

On behalf of OSCAAR, congratulations to Gary Elliott not only on his success this season, but also hitting the career milestone. We look forward to seeing you once again on-track in 2018.

By: Ashley McCubbin

Designed for Top Ecig in Collaboration with r4i and cars online and PDF Library - Doculib.org