5th in OSCAAR Pro Midget Points – Steve Belfry

Steve Belfry

Embarking on his rookie campaign of OSCAAR Pro Midget competition, Steve Belfry’s season was full of highs and lows en route to placing fifth in the year-end rankings.

Belfry made his debut at the second event of the season – Flamboro Speedway in June, though ran into issues as he worked out the bugs of his brand new ride. Those problems wouldn’t linger long, though, as his second race went much better at Sauble Speedway, posting a sixth-place finish.

Returning to Flamboro in July, he was set to prove he could get the job done at the Hamilton, Ontario oval, and did so with another sixth. He was able to carry the momentum to the double features at Peterborough Speedway, scoring a top-10 in both 20-lap events.

Now knee-deep middle of the summer, he made his first trip to Grand Bend Speedway with hopes of continued success. It didn’t go quite as planned, as he placed just outside of the top-10 in both features. A trip back to Sauble Beach was a welcome sight, and proved to be just what the doctor ordered as he scored a ninth-place finish.

Belfry would make his next start of the campaign at Grand Bend Speedway in September, facing mechanical problems en route to 14th-place. He was able to end off his season on a high, though, finishing seventh at both Flamboro Speedway’s Frostoberfest and Peterborough Speedway’s Autumn Colours Classic.

On behalf of OSCAAR, congratulations to Steve Belfry on your success this past season. We look forward to seeing you run even stronger in 2018.

By: Ashley McCubbin

6th Through 8th – OSCAAR Hot Rod Points

In their first year of competition, the OSCAAR Hot Rods delivered each week they hit the track, putting on a show for the fans.

8th – Nick Clarkenickclarke

For Nick Clarke, his series debut didn’t happen until mid-season at Flamboro Speedway, but he has been fast from the beginning. Kicking things off in July, he would lead flag-to-flag in the feature despite fighting fuel issues to pick up the victory.

Moving forward to Sunset Speedway in September, he would not be as successful as hoped, posting a pair of ninth-place finishes after mechanical issues ended the first event early. Returning to Flamboro Speedway the following weekend, he found his groove once again, once again leading-to-flag en route to the victory.

7th – Dan ArchibaldDan Archibald

Dan Archibald only made it out to three races in 2017, but he left a lasting impact on the division.

Making his series debut at Kawartha Speedway in July, he took the lead on Lap 3 of the feature, holding off Tyler Hawn to score the victory. He then backed it up with the perfect sweep at Sunset Speedway’s Velocity 250, winning both events despite being heavily challenged by Kenny McNicol on every turn.

6th – Art RodgersArt Rogers

When the first race took place at Kawartha Speedway in June, Art Rodgers was one of the drivers in the field, taking home a sixth-place finish.

From there, he ran two more events, showing more speed with each appearance. His dirt experience came in handy at Brighton Speedway for a runner-up, while he placed fifth in the return trip to Kawartha in July.

To each of the drivers on behalf of OSCAAR, congratulations on your success and thank you for being part of the inaugural season. We look forward to even bigger, stronger 2018 campaign and wish you the best of luck.

By: Ashley McCubbin

6th in OSCAAR Super Late Model Points – Gary Passer

Gary Passer

With three top-five finishes, Gary Passer put together a solid campaign en route to finishing sixth in the OSCAAR Outlaw Super Late Model standings.

Kicking off the season in May at Flamboro Speedway, the year didn’t start off as he would’ve hoped with a seventh in the first 25-lap feature due to a spin with five laps to go. However, he rebounded impressively in the second event, holding off Glenn Watson and Tyler Hawn in an all-out battle throughout the race to finish third.

Moving forward to Kawartha Speedway, Passer put together a solid, clean race to finish ninth. He carried the momentum back to Flamboro in June, posting a fifth and sixth in the pair of features.

He would score his third top-five of 2017 when the series headed to the beach, placing fifth at Sauble Speedway. Unfortunately, the return to Kawartha did not go as planned, as his race ended early with mechanical problems. Those issues ultimately saw him miss the next two weeks of racing as the team.

Passer returned for the final race of the season – the Autumn Colours Classic at Peterborough Speedway, completing his season with a sixth-place finish.

On behalf of OSCAAR, congratulations to Gary Passer on his success this year. We wish you the best of luck in 2018.

By: Ashley McCubbin

6th in OSCAAR Modified Points – John Harper

John Harper

With some strong runs throughout the course of the season, John Harper put together a solid campaign to finish sixth in the OSCAAR Modified standings.

Kicking off the year at Flamboro Speedway in May, he won a qualifying heat, before battling from an eighth-place starting spot to finish third. While entering the discussion early as a possible contender for the championship, his chances took a considerable hit a couple weeks later at Kawartha Speedway. Harper started off the night well, leading until the halfway point before his engine expired.

His team would not miss a beat, though, as they were back and ready to go for the third event of the year at Flamboro. He once again started off the night strongly, winning a qualifying heat and moving into second in the early stages. However, contact with a lap-car mid-race saw his night end early with a ninth-place finish.

Harper would begin to turn his season back around at Sauble Speedway, scoring a sixth-place finish, before backing it up with another heat win and a fifth at Kawartha. However, the roller coaster wasn’t over yet as contact on Lap 13 with another competitor resulted in a 12th-place finish at Flamboro.

Over the course of the next five races, Harper was able to find some steady momentum in posting five straight top-sevens. Everything began with the mid-summer trip to Peterborough Speedway, as he ran up front throughout the feature, avoiding a last lap incident to finish second and lock himself in the front row for the Autumn Colours Classic. He then finished fourth at Sauble despite fading in the early stages, followed by a seventh at Sunset Speedway after late-race contact and a fourth at Flamboro.

Unfortunately, he was unable to complete his season as well as he hoped. While he started second at the Autumn Colours Classic, an incident on Lap 8 ultimately resulted in a 22nd-place finish.

On behalf of OSCAAR, congratulations to John Harper on his success this year. We look forward to seeing you once again in 2018.

By: Ashley McCubbin

Designed for Top Ecig in Collaboration with r4i and cars online and PDF Library - Doculib.org