John Harper Makes Late Race Pass to win OSCAAR Modified Feature at Jukasa

OSCAAR Modified Series Top 3 at Jukasa Motor Speedway 2019

Using a late race restart to his advantage, John Harper made the pass en route to winning the 40-lap Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC, Scott Reinhart Trailer Sales Ltd OSCAAR Modified feature presented by Queenston at Jukasa Motor Speedway.

Jason Keen won the first heat ahead of Norman Newman, Jeff Showler, Josh Stade, Dale Reinhart, Jase Cornell, Mike Hearty, Wally Wilson, and Mike Westwood.

J.R. Fitzpatrick won the second heat ahead of Chad Strawn, John Harper, Shawn Chenoweth, Brad Pearsall, Cory Horner, Gary Elliott, and Jim Bowman.

A.J. Emms won the third heat ahead of Justin Demelo, Anthony DiBello, Luke Gignac, Craig Scott, Mark Hamacher, and Bob Franks.

Come feature time, Chad Strawn took the early lead off of the front row, beginning to put a gap between himself and J.R. Fitzpatrick, as John Harper, Jason Keen, and Justin Demelo rounded out the top-five. The leaders would string out mostly single-file through the first 15 laps, leaving the battles to positions sixth on back.

Despite running mostly single-file, the leaders did not lose touch with each other, as Justin Demelo made the pass on Jason Keen to take over the fourth spot just before halfway. Behind rookie Norman Newman continued to hold serve, despite being challenged by veterans Shawn Chenoweth and Cory Horner.

John Harper with Feature Win at Jukasa Motor Speedway

At the front of the field, Fitzpatrick began to reel in Strawn for the top spot as Strawn began to fade a little bit. The battle would not last for long, with Fitzpatrick taking the top spot on Lap 27.

It appeared as though the past Super Late Model Champion would cruise to his first career modified victory after pacing Saturday’s practice, however the race’s complexion would change when the caution out with three to go for Bryan Batty slowing on track.

John Harper then used the late-race restart to his advantage, making a pair of passes in the final two laps to take over the top spot.

John Harper then led the rest of the way en route to winning the 40-lap feature ahead of J.R. Fitzpatrick and Chad Strawn. Jason Keen and Cory Horner rounded out the top-five, ahead of Norman Newman, Dale Reinhart, Anthony DiBello, Shawn Chenoweth, and Luke Gignac.

A.J. Emms finished 11th, followed by Mike Hearty, Brad Pearsall, Jase Cornell, Bob Franks, Bryan Batty, Craig Scott, Jim Bowman, Gary Elliott, and Mark Hamacher. Josh Stade finished 21st, followed by Wally Wilson, and Justin Demelo; Demelo was disqualified post-race for an improper clutch. Jeff Showler, Mike Westwood, and Chris Milwain failed to take the green flag in the feature.

The Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC OSCAAR Modifieds are back in action on June 15 with their return to Delaware Speedway, with their feature presented by The Fyre Place and Patio Shop.

OSCAAR’s 2019 racing season is supported by several dedicated partners including Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC, Knightworks Design, Living Lighting Canada, Scott Reinhart Trailer Sales Ltd., American Racer, and Grisdale Race Products.

Race Recap and Heat Win Photos By: Ashley McCubbin / Feature Win Photos by Dan Little Jr.

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.

Designed for Top Ecig in Collaboration with r4i and cars online and PDF Library -