OSCAAR Drivers & Crews Gather Together to Celebrate a Successful 2022 Season

MILTON, Ontario — After a successful season that saw a pair of veterans become series champions, all the drivers and crews for both OSCAAR series gathered together on Saturday, January 21 to celebrate everyone’s accomplishments.

With eight feature victories and 14 heat wins, Andy Kamrath was honored for his first career Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC OSCAAR Modifieds presented by Just Foam It Championship. He was also honored with the John Harper Hard Charger Award for passing the most cars all season.

A single feature victory, accompanied by seven wins led Steve Book to his second straight Qwick Wick Fire Starter OSCAAR Hot Rod Championship. He was also honored with the John Harper Hard Charger Award for the Hot Rods.

Tyler Liscum’s placement of sixth in the final standings with four top-10’s earned him the Point S Action Tire Rookie of the Year for the Modifieds.

The recently decreased Bill Zardo Sr. earned the honor for the Hot Rod division highlighted by a victory at Peterborough Speedway in August. The Canadian Motorsports Hall of Famer elected to share the honor with fellow competitor Connor Ellis, who placed seventh in the year-end standings in his first season of driving anything with eight cylinders. It marked a unique moment for the division, in honoring their oldest and youngest Rookie of the Year at the same time.

It was announced at the banquet that the Rookie of the Year Award will be named in Bill Zardo Sr.’s name for years to come, as nod to his great 2022 campaign with the series and accomplishments across the province.

The Don Hawn Most Sportsmanlike Driver Award went to Dale Reinhart (Modiifeds) and Ryan Cowan (Hot Rods), while the Best Appearing Award was given to TJ Edwards (Modifieds) and Nick Clarke (Hot Rods).

As has become tradition with the banquet, the Gary Elliott Iron Man Award was handed out to a driver from each class, which is presented to “the driver that overcame and faced adversity throughout the year to always be at the track,” with a perfect attendance as a requirement to be eligible. The honor was given to Tommy Robb (Modifieds) and Gary Hannah (Hot Rods), who both endured multiple mechanical breakages in their respective divisions, but fought to ensure attendance at each event on a weekly basis.

With a solid season in the books, OSCAAR is now putting the full focus forward the upcoming 2023 campaign, which should be filled with great racing and lots of competition across the entire province of Ontario based on early indications.

Be sure to stay tuned to OSCAAR’s website for details leading into the season.

By: Ashley McCubbin

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Please subscribe to OSCAAR Racing’s Newsletter to stay up to date one everything OSCAAR.